Saturday, March 25, 2023

Mamta will contest the by-election from Bhawanipur

- Advertisement -spot_img

May 21, 2021 18:40 First

Kolkata (West Bengal, [India]May 21 (ANI): West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will contest the bypolls from Bhawanipur assembly seat, a Trinamool Congress said (TMC) leader on Friday.
Senior Trinamool Congress leader and party MLA Sovandeb Chatterjee resigns Bhawanipur seat on friday
“Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee lived twice Bhawanipur, All the party leaders discussed and when I heard that she wants to contest from here, I thought I should vacate my seat. There is no pressure. No one else has the courage to run the government. I talked to him. It was his seat, I was just protecting it,” Chatterjee told media persons after his resignation.
West Bengal Assembly Speaker Biman Banerjee also confirmed Chatterjee’s resignation and said it was a resignation TMC voluntary decision of the legislator

Assembly Speaker Biman Banerjee said, “I have asked him whether he resigned voluntarily and without any pressure. I am satisfied and I have accepted his resignation.”
especially, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee He contested the assembly election this year from Nandigram constituency instead of his home constituency Bhawanipur, However, she lost in Nandigram to BJP’s Shubhendu Adhikari by a margin of 1,956 votes.
Mamata Banerjeewho took the oath as West Bengal The chief minister has to be elected as a member of the state assembly within six months to continue in office for the third consecutive term.
As per Article 164(4) of the Constitution of India, a minister who is not a member of the state legislature for a continuous period of six months shall cease to be a minister on the expiry of that period. (ANI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here