Saturday, March 25, 2023

Gujarat polls: BJP’s mass ‘sabhas’ across 89 constituencies to draw state, central leaders

- Advertisement -spot_img

Ahead of the Gujarat Assembly elections, the BJP will hold public meetings of central ministers and state leaders across 89 constituencies on Friday.

The mass event will see union ministers Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Dharmendra Pradhan and Smriti Irani addressing rallies. Besides, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will also be back in the state from Nov 20-22 to address public rallies in the Saurashtra region, reported ANI.

Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel and state party president CR Patil will also attend these public meetings or ‘sabhas.’ “Our party has big leaders not just at the national level alone but also at the state level and that is how the party goes into the election. We will go full throttle,” ANI quoted a party source. The party expects at least 3000 to 5000 people to throng these rallies. In many places, they believe the number will go up to 20,000.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will hold rallies in Gujarat’s Saurashtra regions next week, from November 20-22. He is expected to conduct three rallies in Saurashtra on November 20, two in South Gujarat and Saurashtra on November 21 and two in Saurashtra on November 22.

However, the final details of his program in the state are still being discussed as the BJP leaders await his return from the G20 summit to finalize the rally venues.

Out of the 182 assembly seats, 48 ​​are in this region. Polling in the Saurashtra region will be held in the first phase on December 1.

Congress releases final list

The Congress on Wednesday released its final list of 37 candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections, fielding former chief minister Shankersinh Vaghela’s son from the Bayad constituency.

With the declaration of the seventh list, Congress has announced 179 candidates for the polls to the 182-member Gujarat Assembly.

Sources said this was the last and final list of candidates. The Congress has an alliance with the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) for the assembly polls and the Sharad Pawar-led party is set to contest three seats.

The seventh list of 37 candidates included Mahendrasinh Vaghela from Bayad, Ramesh Koli from Sanand, Chirag Patel from Khambhat, Harshadbhai Ninama from Dahod (ST) and Mahesh Patel from Palanpur.

The party also fielded Rashmitaben Chauhan from Godhra, Gunvantrai Parmar from Vadodara city (SC) and Virendrasinh Vaghela from Gandhinagar north, among others. The Congress on November 4 released its first list announcing the names of 43 candidates for the elections.

(With inputs from PTI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here